That Feeling… That Print Feeling!

FullSizeRender

I just received the print copies of our anthology, The Dystopian Nation of City State.  And yes, even though this first publication isn’t perfect, it’s here.  It’s real.

One of my author friends asked, “Feels better than digital, right?”

I thought about his question and answered, “Why yes, it does.  I feel even more accomplished.”

Keep writing.  Don’t give up.  The process will get easier.

The first step is always the most difficult.  Take that step, and in City-State, aim for Olympus – the floating city in the sky.


37 thoughts on “That Feeling… That Print Feeling!

    1. Thanks for the comment! As you can see, City-State is a team effort – James and I both write and edit our writings.

      As for editing, I am a college English Instructor, so I edit for grammar and sentence structure (and some style – most dialogue is a little less “mechanical”). No one has complained about comprehension issues – plot and characters, maybe, but no real issues with actually reading the stories. And no, we do not have an outside editor.

      James and I also conduct multiple beta reads throughout the process. As we have learned, we cannot please everyone, and style is super subjective.

      As we keep writing and keep talking to people, we learn a little more each day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. hello kaisywmills its dennis the vizsla dog hay kongratchoolayshuns on the print edishun!!! my dada sez laying owt the print verzhun is always the hardest part!!! i do not no why when i lay owt i just stretch owt my paws and i am dun!!! ha ha ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I know exactly how you feel. I even took pictures of me receiving the postal notification I was so excited. Then we had the cover redone and WOW. Talk about exciting. I think unless you are an Author or someone who took part in the project, you can’t possibly explain to people how good it feels to see your words in print!

    Like

    1. You are so right! I just placed the anthology in a couple libraries, and I told the librarians to let me know when the book is shelved so I can take pics! LOL! It is nice to see your name on something so… special – even if it doesn’t sell a thousand copies! 🙂

      Like

  3. I absolutely agree with this. When my first proof came in the mail I held it in my hands and just looked at it for a bit. Flipping through the pages brought me back to the days as a teenager when I adored the look and feel of my most beloved books … Knowing these pages contained my own words made it that much more amazing.

    Like

  4. Good job on the book! It is very exciting seeing and holding a real object that ya created yourself out of whole cloth. Re editing: I like to read aloud what I’ve written–if it sounds rough, or dumb, it jumps out. I have looked at an old manuscript or finished piece of writing and thought “Wow…this is GREAT! Did I really write this?”
    Also the flip side: “What? I couldn’t have written this piece of crap!.”

    It’s all relative. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! James and I hope you enjoy it! If you have time (of course you don’t have to), let us know what you think. We live feedback – positive and/or negative. Feedback allows us to grow! 😀

      Like

      1. It’s a sure thing – no problem! I promise to give an honest review
        as soon as I finish your interesting book. I like the title of your book by the way, very catchy. Is “DNCS- How to kill your senator” your second book?

        Like

      2. “How to Kill Your Senator” is a stand alone short story. We are releasing shorts until we are done with the first novel in our trilogy. “Senator” is about ten pages… a quick read! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wow. Now, I understand. Thanks for sharing the information. So the anthology is a precursor to your trilogy, is that right? Looking forward to reading more of your books. 🙂 Again, congrats!

        Like

      4. Yes! The anthology and the short stories set the scene for the trilogy. The anthology and the shorts also give readers a full picture of City-State as a dystopian nation. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

