A Little Taste of “Television’s Prescription for Ratings”

IMG_1175

James and I are in the deep and dirty editing stages of our new City-State short, “Television’s Prescription for Ratings”, and we wanted to share a little of our notes and a little piece of this new… reality:

Tyler Wright, a young emergency ward doctor, has just been appointed to City-State’s Health and Ethical Entertainment committee – “the death committee” as it is known among the nation’s medical and political residents.  Dr. Bevin, an esteemed member of this committee, explains the nature of City-State’s violent and deadly reality television shows:

“…we have to give the audiences what they want – and need.  Entertainment is the key in City-State.  People live well here.  With that said, they need constant entertainment – truly compelling media – in order to keep their minds occupied.  A bored populace is dangerous for everyone.”

And the show must go on… stay tuned.  Beta readers are wanted soon.


12 thoughts on “A Little Taste of “Television’s Prescription for Ratings”

  1. Count me in for beta again if you want :). I’m not normally one for Dystopia but I think you just might have me hooked for this one :D.

    Anything I write within these forums is EXPRESSLY my property. If you wish to copy or use it else where you MUST have my EXPRESS permission to do so.

    “God gives us relatives; thank God, we can choose our friends.” Addison Mizner Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.~ Thich Nhat Hanh

    Feelings are NOT fact!

    ““If you can make a girl laugh, you can make her do anything.”” – Marilyn Monroe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great! I will! This one is a little longer than “Senator” – it will be around 8,000 to 9,000 words. You will be the first one on my list. 🙂 James and I are trying to finish this rough draft within two weeks. Our full time jobs are exhausting! I hope City-State can pay the bills in the future! 🙂

      Like

      1. Lol.
        I happen to enjoy betaing so it’s no big deal for me.
        I’m sure that once your books hit mainstream readers it’ll take off.
        If you give me your Twitter, G+ and Tumblr (If you have them) names I can make sure to include it in any reviews I do since I X-post there.

        Like

    1. Yes! 🙂 We have an anthology and a short story out right now. Obviously, this is another stand alone short. Plus, we are working on a trilogy – we have revamped it a few times! 🙂 We are hoping to have the first novel in the trilogy out next year. 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! James and I are going to conduct a beta read for suggestions and comments, and then we will call for a read and review – read and post a review the day of release. You can do both or one if you want. 🙂 Would you like to do the beta read? The read and review?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

