Beta Readers Needed! It’s Time for Round Two!

FullSizeRender

Beta read round #1 for “Television’s Prescription for Ratings” went extremely well!  The main deficiency of this piece was a lack of character development.  As James and I previously stated, feedback and criticism is very important, and we respect our readers’ suggestions.  So…

James and I are rewriting and reediting the piece, we are splitting it into two separate short stories, and for this first installment, we are expanding the characters of Chelle and Faye, two contestants from City-State’s vile reality show, “The Blade’s Edge: Family Edition”.

The title also changed.  This first piece will be titled “Prescription for Ratings: The Contestants”.  In this government-controlled, fight-to-the-death reality show, Chelle and Faye’s backstories are illustrated as simple flashbacks in the midst of the deadly arena: The Blade’s Penthouse on Layer Seven in City-State.

The second piece will be entitled “Prescription for Ratings: The Committee”, and it will focus on Dr. Tyler Wright, a young member of this “death committee”.

If you would like to participate as a beta reader, please let me know!  Comment with your name and email address.  If you do not wish to leave your email here, contact me privately via Facebook or Twitter.

This story will be about 5,000 words, it will be ready in about two weeks, and as a beta reader, this piece will be free of charge.

Thanks!  We would love for you to participate!  🙂


26 thoughts on “Beta Readers Needed! It’s Time for Round Two!

  1. Send it when it’s ready :). I’m glad to see we’re going to get a look into the ‘final two’ contestants :). I’m assuming you still have my email address, lol.

    Anything I write within these forums is EXPRESSLY my property. If you wish to copy or use it else where you MUST have my EXPRESS permission to do so.

    “God gives us relatives; thank God, we can choose our friends.” Addison Mizner Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.~ Thich Nhat Hanh

    Feelings are NOT fact!

    ““If you can make a girl laugh, you can make her do anything.”” – Marilyn Monroe

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It wasn’t so much too much going as my own innate curiosity as to what made them who they were, why they were so desperate and how Tyler could still seem so like humans today when he grew up in a dystopian state. I would think that he would grow up pretty much like everyone else and enjoy the kill but he shows he has a conscience. That final conversation with his dad kind of put it into a different light but not enough for me to be able to say ‘this is who he is and why he is this way’ definitively.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re right! And if we included every little detail, the story would be a little too lengthy. So, to fully define all the characters, James and I thought that two stories would be more effective. Plus, we are going to change Tyler’s experience a little bit… 🙂

        Like

      3. :). That’s what beta and pre-readers are for though; to point out what works, what doesn’t, what needs work and what could be expanded or eliminated.
        Besides, I’ve learned this is something I enjoy and I’m good at.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, and as long it’s in true mobi (that IS Kindle, right?) I can read it on my phone or tablet, not sure about editing/marking that way though.

    Anything I write within these forums is EXPRESSLY my property. If you wish to copy or use it else where you MUST have my EXPRESS permission to do so.

    “God gives us relatives; thank God, we can choose our friends.” Addison Mizner Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.~ Thich Nhat Hanh

    Feelings are NOT fact!

    ““If you can make a girl laugh, you can make her do anything.”” – Marilyn Monroe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am not sure about true mobi. Actually, I have never heard of it. I will send a PDF copy. Do you have the last PDF beta copy? Perhaps you can try that file as a tester to see if it works! 🙂

      Like

      1. I think I do. Maybe I can load it into my google reader. Shrug. If I can’t is no biggie. By true Mobi I meant I have come across beta reads before that won’t open in the App.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! This piece is not so much sci-fi, but more of a background of some residents of City-State – the different classes. Here, the entertainment sector is show with it’s main pool of contestants – D-Class citizens (lower class people). There is violence with moral (inner) conflict).

      I will contact you in about two weeks; we are still finalizing the story! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

